Monday, February 8, 2010

Shouldn't You Be Married, Though? -_-

Aaahhh love :o) It's a beautiful thing isn't it?

So my oldest sister is engaged to be married this October. I'm pretty damn excited for her, especially since she and her fiance have been together for 10 years now. He's like a brother to me of course.

Oddly enough I signed up to take a Christian marriage class for this semester during registration last fall... It's a requirement, okay? It's not like I was looking for marriage courses, people. Believe me this is the last class I wanna take.

So, whatever, I figured I could get something out of the class. Talks of marriage and relationships always spark really interesting conversations amongst people... Or so I thought.

I should actually be doing the homework I have due for that class right now... But that's neither here nor there and I digress... Back to the point. I thought the class would be entertaining at the very least. Boy, could I not have been wronger. Not only is everyone always half-sleep in that class but a few classes ago, the professor drops a BOMB on us!

In the mist of some lecture he was giving about something or another that I couldn't care less about, I hear him say,"Well, I've never been married myself."

Yeahhhh.... Things got pretty awkward after that. It sure did explain his choice of style in teaching the course though. Which consists mainly of repetition (which irks me) and reading quotes from Socrates, Plato, and the Bible... No real life experiences or stories. And no real attempt to even relate it to real life, except for stories of random strangers helping him after his car broke down.

I'm sure you can see my frustration. I really just wanna sit him down and ask him... Shouldn't you be married though? Or at least have been married? Perhaps he wasn't originally supposed to teach the course and is doing so by a mere fluke. I don't know. I just know that his lack of experience in marriage and what appears to be a lack of experience in love, based on the things he's shared, makes this class one real huge gigantic riDONKulous SNORE.

No comments:

Post a Comment